Les témoins du navigateur
Ce site utilise des témoins nécessaires pour bien fonctionner. En fermant cette fenêtre contextuelle, en cliquant sur un lien ou en continuant à naviguer, vous acceptez l'utilisation des témoins. Voir nos politiques.
The Federation of Dental Hygiene Regulators of Canada (FDHRC) and the National Dental Hygiene Certification Board (NDHCB) amalgamated effective January 1, 2022.
The new organization is operating as the FDHRC.

Examen canadien sur la performance en hygiène dentaire (ECPHD)

À propos de l’ECPHD

Les candidat(e)s d’établissements d’enseignement non agréés qui ont obtenu une équivalence et ont réussi l’Examen de certification nationale en hygiène dentaire (ECNHD) doivent également réussir l’Examen canadien sur la performance en hygiène dentaire (ECPHD) avant de pouvoir obtenir leur permis d’exercer dans la plupart des provinces. Les personnes concernées doivent vérifier les exigences auprès de l’organisme de réglementation de la province où elles souhaitent pratiquer. Une liste complète des organismes de réglementation est disponible ici. L’ECPHD est offert chaque année dans un lieu central et, depuis 2022, est administré par la Fédération des organismes de réglementation en hygiène dentaire du Canada (FORHDC). L’ECPHD a été élaboré grâce à un partenariat entre le College of Dental Hygienists of British Columbia, le College of Registered Dental Hygienists of Alberta et l’Ordre des hygiénistes dentaires de l’Ontario. L’ECPHD est seulement offert en anglais.

L’ECPHD est un examen pratique qui évalue les aptitudes cliniques du (de la) candidat(e). Le but de cet examen est de s’assurer que tous (toutes) les candidat(e)s possèdent des aptitudes cliniques assez vastes et approfondies pour pratiquer de façon sécuritaire et efficace l’hygiène dentaire au Canada. L’ECPHD est une évaluation en deux parties basée sur la performance qui permet d’évaluer sur deux jours le niveau de connaissances et/ou d’aptitudes de l’hygiéniste dentaire à son admission à la profession dans un cadre simulé et dans un contexte clinique authentique.

L’examen évalue un large éventail de questions et d’aptitudes cliniques telles que la capacité du (de la) candidat(e) à démontrer sa maîtrise du processus de soins d’hygiène dentaire, notamment dans les domaines suivants :

  • Prévention et contrôle des infections
  • Aptitudes de communication
  • Collecte, documentation et analyse des données dans le but d’identifier les risques pour la santé buccodentaire et les besoins des clients
  • Diagnostic en hygiène dentaire
  • Planification des traitements d’hygiène dentaire
  • Sélection des instruments
  • Détection et enlèvement du tartre supra-gingival et sous-gingival
  • Soins des tissus
  • Gestion des clients

Demande d’admission à l’ECPHD

Date de l’examen : 2023 (à confirmer)

Lieu : À confirmer

Date limite pour déposer une demande d’admission : À confirmer

Les candidat(e)s auront besoin de la documentation et/ou des informations suivantes pour compléter leur demande :

  • Deux photos format passeport récentes et notariées.
  • Le paiement des frais de demande d’admission est exigé au moment du dépôt de la demande.
  • La preuve d’une assurance responsabilité professionnelle d’un montant minimum de 1 000 000 $.
  • La date de réussite de l’ECNHD et le numéro de certificat.
  • Le signalement de toute maladie transmissible active/maladie respiratoire (p. ex., tuberculose, hémoglobine C). Si le (la) candidat(e) est atteint(e) d’une telle maladie, celle-ci doit être rapportée par écrit, et le rapport et toute documentation connexe doivent être joints au formulaire de demande. Vous devez effectuer le suivi approprié pour déterminer les mesures nécessaires, le cas échéant.
  • Le paiement des frais de demande d’admission est exigé au moment du dépôt de la demande.

Accommodements

Les candidat(e)s qui souhaitent demander des accommodements pour l’examen en raison d’une incapacité ou d’un problème de santé doivent contacter la FORHDC à exam@fdhrc.ca.

Ressources pour se préparer à l’examen

Voici des ressources pour aider les candidat(e)s à l’ECPHD à se préparer à l’examen :

Browser Cookies
This site uses cookies necessary to properly function. By closing this popup, clicking a link or continuing to browse otherwise, you agree to the use of cookies. View our policies.

Canadian Performance Examination in Dental Hygiene™ (CPEDH™)

About the CPEDH™

Applicants from non-accredited schools who have been granted equivalency and have passed the National Dental Hygiene Certification Examination™ (NDHCE™), must also successfully complete the Canadian Performance Examination in Dental Hygiene™ (CPEDH™) before they can register to practice in most provinces. Individuals should check with the Regulator in the province in which they wish to register to confirm their requirements to practice. A full list of Regulators is available here. The CPEDH™ is delivered yearly in a central location and as of 2022, is administered by the Federation of Dental Hygiene Regulators of Canada™ (FDHRC™). The CPEDH™ was developed through a partnership of the College of Dental Hygienists of British Columbia, College of Registered Dental Hygienists of Alberta, and the College of Dental Hygienists of Ontario. The CPEDH™ is only available in English.

The CPEDH™ is a practical examination that assesses an applicant's clinical skills. The purpose of this exam is to ensure that all candidates possess the breadth and depth of clinical skills to safely and effectively enter professional dental hygiene practice in Canada. The CPEDH™ is a two-part performance-based assessment, which will assess the competency of an entry-to-practice dental hygienist's knowledge and/or skills in both a simulated-based setting and an authentic clinical context delivered over two days.

The examination evaluates a broad range of clinical skills and issues such as a candidate's ability to demonstrate proficiency in the dental hygiene process of care, including:

  • Infection prevention and control
  • Communication skills
  • Collection, documentation, and analysis of data to identify oral health risks and client needs
  • Dental hygiene diagnosis
  • Dental hygiene treatment planning
  • Instrument selection
  • Detection and removal of supra and sub gingival calculus
  • Tissue care
  • Client Management

Apply for the CPEDH™

Spring Exam Dates: June 22-23, 2024

Location: Ottawa, ON

Application Opens: February 9, 2024 at 12pm EST

Application Closes: April 5, 2024 at 11:59pm PST

Fall Exam Dates: October 26-27, 2024 

Location: Ottawa, ON

Application Opens: July 2024

Application Deadline: August 2024

Candidates will need the following documentation and/or information to complete their application:

  • One current, notarized, passport-style photographs.
  • Evidence of Professional Liability Insurance for a minimum amount of $1,000,000.
  • Date of successful completion of the NDHCE™ and certificate number.
  • Reporting of any active communicable disease/respiratory illness (e.g., TB, HBC). If the applicant has such an illness, it must be reported in writing and the report and any related documentation must be included with the application form. Complete appropriate follow up to determine what, if any, actions are required.
  • Fit Test for N95 (see CPEDH Candidate Guide for more information)
  • Payment of the application fee is required at the time of application.

SPRING 2024 APPLICATION 

Accommodations

Candidates who want to apply for exam accommodations for a disability or medical condition should review the CPEDH™ Test Accommodations Policy and Procedure carefully. 

Candidates must then complete the following forms, as appropriate:

Fully completed Forms A and B, as well as supporting documentation, must be sent to the FDHRC™ by the exam application deadline. Any incomplete documentation or requests received after the application deadline may result in accommodations that cannot by met due to a lack of time prior to the examination. The candidate is responsible for any costs related to any supporting documentation. A new accommodation request (including Form A and Form B, if required) and appropriate documentation must be made with every examination application. An approved accommodation for a previous exam attempt does not guarantee it will be approved for subsequent attempts.

Administration of the examination under special conditions will not be granted to candidates whose mother tongue is neither English nor French for the sole reason that their native language is one other than English or French.

Exam Preparation Resources

A number of resources to assist CPEDH™ candidates to prepare for the examination is provided below.